Mental Health Leadership

Why Social Media Fast Was the Best Decision for My Mental Health

How to overcome addictive and non-serving behavior

Dr Mehmet Yildiz (Main)
EUPHORIA
Published in
8 min readJun 11, 2021

--

Photo by ROMAN ODINTSOV from Pexels

Possibly, an article like this from a person whose social media posts get millions of impressions might surprise my readers. But I explain the madness behind my order.

Even though I use social media for business, I perform a digital fast for the personal use of social media, especially Facebook and Instagram.

My problem is the problem of millions. We know that 70% of the population in America has social media accounts.

Addiction to Social Media and Attachment Styles was discussed in a systematic literature review published in the International Journal of Mental Health and Addiction.

As pointed out by researchers in this paper titled, Effects of Social Media on Mental Health: A Review,

“The imbalance created by the excessive usage of social media is a significant concern for parents, researchers, and, society regarding the mental health of individuals”.

Unfortunately, I suffered from the side effects of social media a lot. As a matter of fact, my mental health was at stake due to addiction.

--

--

Dr Mehmet Yildiz (Main)
EUPHORIA

Scientist, Technologist, Inventor, focusing on HEALTH and JOY. Founder of ILLUMINATION, curating key messages for society. Connection: https://digitalmehmet.com