Software Is Much More than Writing Code

Just as a car is much more than its engine, the software is much more than its code

Luca Vettor
ILLUMINATION

--

Author’s map

Have you ever met software engineers who proudly state, ‘We write code; anything else is fluffy,’ or are you one of them? This is for you!

Coding is a challenging and rewarding task

For more than ten years, my job was writing code. I began at the time of the .NET Framework 1.0; after some experience with C++, the .NET Framework was exciting!

Thanks to Wikipedia

I still feel the sense of power vibrating in me in learning the abstractions and facilitations that the .NET Framework introduced into the experience of software developers. I remember the wonder because freeing up memory would never be a nightmare again!

Did my job become easy? Not at all. Learning a new way of coding, interoperability with legacy systems, and understanding business requirements were tough, but the .NET Framework moved challenges into a new arena.

If you are a software developer, you have experience of the adrenaline that envelops you when you overcome a rock and…

--

--

Luca Vettor
ILLUMINATION

My 24 years in the IT industry and physics degree flow into my mission: simplify what appears complex.