Song/Poem of the Day — Let Me Go

Suzanne Mondoux
ILLUMINATION
Published in
2 min readMay 18, 2020

--

Photo source: james-rajaste-DOf5q34D5is-unsplash

Let Me Go

Is this the life for me, will there be nothing else
Behind these bars and bound with chains
Open your eyes to the world you created for me
I’m just a Being like you, I need what you need
Because I don’t read like you, speak like you
Live differently then you do, I’m still life, and alive
It’s not the way things have always been

Human Being, I am Animal Being
Holding me captive does not make you whole
Killing me does not make you strong
You put a gun to my head because I just killed a man
I was left with no choice to take this life
You gave it freely when you came after mind
But for now I’m of value to you, somehow
You take my child and cut off my hands
To some you cut off their face to steal their tusks,
This is just some of the things you do

It’s not too late, the time has not come
Let me go into the world as I should be
Let yourself go into this world in harmony with Animal Being
Let me go away from chains and all human constraints
I see the…

--

--