Song/Poem of the Day — Optimist

Suzanne Mondoux
ILLUMINATION
Published in
2 min readJun 11, 2020

--

Photo source: alessandro-zambon-ueTewUUKn6M-unsplash

Optimist

I’m a dreamer of the friend in you
Hmm, my friend, I believe in you, I see your light
I’m hopeful of you, despite that needle in your arm
Despite that white line of torment at your fingertips
You’re my friend, my optimist of life

Hmm, my optimist of life, a friend of all friends
I know you are the best of all possible worlds
Even when I found you dead
The good in you came back to life
The good always prevails, no matter your demons
Whoa, Hmm, Hmm, you’re my optimist of life

You want it all to end, but your light shines bright
You’ve come and gone, earth to heaven you seem to travel
The optimist in you refuses to say goodbye
You want to come clean, you shame away
No matter my friend, my optimist of life
Hmm, Whoa, whoa, whoa, whoa, whoa

You shame away for what seems the only place to look
Oh my friend, my optimist of love, of friendship
Today is a new day, let it be so
Tell me where to find you, heaven or earth
Hmm, Hmm, Whoa, Whoa, La, La, La…

--

--