Spilled Granola and Other Horrors of 2020!

It’s Okay to Cry

Kim Jagwe
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readAug 31, 2020

--

Photo by Aliyah Jamous on Unsplash

I dropped an entire pan of homemade granola in the bottom of my oven. It was epic, complete with smoke effects and dramatic sobs.

The aroma of spices filled the kitchen signaling the golden lightly toasted oats were done. I grabbed my oven mitts and reached for the oven door. A blast of heat hit me in the face as I reached in to lift the heavy pan piled with maple-glazed cinnamon granola. As I was lifting upwards, the edge of the heavy dish hit against the oven rack, causing the pan to slip from my grasp. The pan fell face down onto the oven door. Granola flew everywhere! I stared in shock as bits of granola started to smolder at the bottom of the hot oven floor. A flash flood of tears suddenly released, down my cheeks.

Burst Dam

“Just keep it together!” I whispered. This had become my mantra lately. My mind rejected my direct order. I argue back, “Are we really doing this? After all, we’ve been through, are we really going to cry over some spilled granola?” Heck yeah we are! I proceeded to cried one of those red eyed, nose running, strangled animal sounds kind of cries and it felt good!

I later realized I wasn’t crying for the granola I had to clean up. Truth be told, my husband and daughter heard the commotion, came running and jumped…

--

--

Kim Jagwe
ILLUMINATION

Kim Jagwe:, Podcaster* Faith Builder* CEO of God's Perfect Size.* Really Cool Human. My internet home is www.kimjagwe.com