Part 1 of 4

Spinner

A woman trapped in an abusive relationship during lockdown investigates a malevolent supernatural force in her basement.

Simon Dillon
ILLUMINATION
Published in
12 min readMar 17, 2021

--

Photo by Marten Newhall on Unsplash

‘Is that your second slice of toast?’

It seemed a harmless inquiry, but Isabel caught the undertone of her boyfriend’s question. Tyler was concerned about her stomach. Too much bread made her feel ill, and she had to be reminded. Isabel nodded, and put the remaining uneaten toast with strawberry jam back on her plate, knowing that creeping guilt would spoil the taste if she persisted.

‘I thought so,’ said Tyler. ‘Sweetheart, you need to be careful. You know what too much bread can do to you, and we don’t want you feeling lousy on our anniversary, do we?’

‘No,’ said Isabel. ‘You’re right. I’m sorry.’

‘I sometimes wonder how you managed to survive so long without me. I suppose your mother did the best she could, mingled with her lunatic religious views, of course.’

‘Tyler, I wish you wouldn’t talk about her like that.’

‘Why shouldn’t I? You’ve always said she was batshit crazy. You were the one who wanted to get out of there and move in with me. I love how much that pissed her off, thinking of us living together, living in sin…’

--

--

Simon Dillon
ILLUMINATION

Novelist and Short Story-ist. Film and Book Lover. If you cut me, I bleed celluloid and paper pulp. Blog: www.simondillonbooks.wordpress.com