Squeeze More Out of Your Day

How to find 15 minutes to focus on your health.

Johnny T. Nguyen
ILLUMINATION

--

Woman stretching on ground.
Photo by Jonathan Borba on Pexels

Let’s start with a riddle…

If you do this one thing, then you could live longer, lose weight, improve memory, and have better overall performance. All it takes is a few minutes and, literally, requires zero effort.

But it will cost you something. It’ll cost you to reprioritize the numerous demands on you.

Back in college, I slept less than 6 hours. I carried that sleeping habit when I entered the workforce until I started falling asleep and realized I had to change. So I drank Red Bull and Starbucks’ Doubleshot Expressos. Problem solved.

In my 30s, I became more health conscious, so I dropped the sugar drinks and guaranteed myself at least 7 hours of sleep — no compromises. And it worked. I couldn’t believe how much more clarity I had and I could actually remember things! It was wild.

But now in my 40s and with a baby on the way, this past year I’ve become aware of this slow creep of sluggishness. Time to reinvent.

Eight hours is a bit of a myth; it’s really between seven and nine hours, and that’s generally going to shift over a lifetime. You might need more sleep at some point in your life, and less at other points in your life.

--

--

Johnny T. Nguyen
ILLUMINATION

All about the adventure of positivity & productivity. I’ve turned into my parents and now wake up before 6 AM… & crush it. 🔅 www.theventureout.com