Stop Using Clutter Words: Write the Clean Truth!

Nathan Collins
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readApr 30, 2024

Simplify, Simplify, Simplify

Photo by No Revisions on Unsplash

“ I went to the woods because I wished to live deliberately, to front only the essential facts of life, and see if I could not learn what I had to teach, and not, when I came to die, discover that I had not lived.” (Thoreau, Walden)

What is it you are trying to say? Say that.

Our language is filled with unnecessary words. Filler words may be a more appropriate name for them. They are those words we feel are necessary to tack on to every sentence.

Like the “orange meat product” squirted into Taco Bell’s “ground beef,” we feel the need to fill our sentences with meaningless words and phrases like:

-Personal

“my personal position,” “what I like personally,” that’s my “personal best,” and “her personal feelings.” This is nonsense, the definition of redundant communication. There is no reason to write “I” and “personally” together in the same sentence. We already know it is you. You don’t need to tell us twice! What other kind of “personal” is there besides you? Where else do your feelings come from if not “personal?” Feelings are already assumed to be personal.

You don’t need these kinds of redundant words to clutter a page.

-Synergy

Wow, The King of Vagaries! What is this word? Companies everywhere are touting their “synergy.” This “synergy” is being cultivated and used in “corporate cultures” (another clutter word) all over this country. What does that even mean? Why can’t we be clear about what exactly we are cultivating? Why have we all become farmers? Be clear!

-Bleeding edge

This story is on the “bleeding edge” of writing hacks! This is a catchy, overused phrase I hear in business or entrepreneurship. What exactly is this so-called “bleeding edge,” and why is it always bleeding? It sounds rather disturbing, and I don’t think it conveys whatever the corporation wishes to convey. Unless that business is some violent sword business, if that is the case, then I guess it works.

-it is what it is

Gross. Just. No. Why even type these words if you have much ado about nothing?

- Honestly

Honestly, I really don’t know why I love to clutter my sentences so very much. Are we usually lying to people? Maybe. However, it seems to me that this is not usually the case. So, if we are writing what we think, why add this superfluous word? Writing “honestly” before we say what we mean to say doesn’t make it any more truthful. Say what you mean and leave the plain truth on the page.

There are mountains of clutter words and phrases beyond these. William Zimmer suggests that 50 percent of most first drafts can be cut without losing any information. Cluttered writing is dirty and a waste of the reader’s time. Give them what they need to know, and that’s it.

“Clear Thinking becomes clear writing; one can’t exist without the other. It’s impossible for a muddy thinker to write good English.” (William Zinsser, Writing Well)

It takes hard work to develop an eye for trimming out fat—lots of practice and, most of all, a change in attitude. Be thankful for every useless word you could destroy. You become better at writing each time you do it.

Writing is a laborious craft. It’s not easy for any of us. A clean sentence does not happen at random. Work at this skill every time you write. Keep focused on the goal; your future self will thank you.

Remember, what is it you are trying to say? Say that.

Thanks for reading. I honestly hope this helped in some personal way. I think this advice provides the synergy that is needed to be on the bleeding edge of writing. If not, it is what it is.

Sorry, I couldn’t resist y’all!😄

--

--

Nathan Collins
ILLUMINATION

I'm a Christian, a father, a teacher, a writer, and the founder of Beth Derech School of Discipleship. Christian thought is a passion of mine.