Stories are Bags in Which Humans Carry Ideas and Culture Across Time

An Interview with Professor Elizabeth Carolyn Miller

Joe Thomas
ILLUMINATION
Published in
6 min readOct 19, 2021

--

In this interview, Elizabeth Carolyn Miller discusses her thoughts on writing, storytelling, and creativity.

I publish under my full name, Elizabeth Carolyn Miller, but everyone calls me Liz. I was born in Milwaukee Wisconsin and moved to California in 2008, when I was 34 years old, to take a job at UC Davis. At Davis, I am a professor of English who teaches classes in 19th- and early-20th-century literature of the British imperial world as well as in the environmental humanities. I also teach children’s literature. Before coming to Davis, I taught at universities in Ohio, Michigan, and Oklahoma. I have twin boys who were born in 2012.

Why do we write?

Writing is a form of communication that is intended to last and to reach a wide audience. When people write, at least beyond the everyday writing tasks of emails and shopping lists, they are searching for an audience bigger than their own lives — people they don’t know, people who live somewhere else, people who haven’t been born yet.

Why is storytelling important?

--

--

Joe Thomas
ILLUMINATION

EV traveler, writer, futurist. Author of The Wealth of the Planet, While We Were Charging, and Martian Economics --> https://a.co/d/3z6f4CC