Struggle On – A Poem

Hiking In The Snow

Paul Douglas
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Aditya Vyas on Unsplash

Snow falling on cedar logs
My breath visible to my eyes
Clouds laden with their heavy load
Floating heavily in the skies

Stamping feet on the forest floor
Blowing warm breath in my hands
Trying desperately to keep warm
As I struggle home

My friends are somewhere else
In this interminable landscape
Although we all came together
We are now spread wide

Winter hikes amid winter weather
Walking in the snow
When the weather closes in
Which direction to walk I no longer know

Still, I keep walking
And the snow keeps falling
But I have no choice now
But to struggle on

I’m sure I will find my way home
If I struggle on
Life is full of hardship
But we struggle on

--

--

Paul Douglas
ILLUMINATION

I have always loved to write, especially poems and short stories. I also have an abiding love for technology and gaming. I love to share my outlook with others.