Success Cannot Be Pursued, It Must Ensue

Sonam Lama
ILLUMINATION
Published in
5 min readNov 17, 2020

--

Photo by Ian Stauffer on Unsplash

I’ve chased success my entire life.

Success is all I thought about. As soon as I opened my eyes in the morning, throughout my daily life, before I went to bed, and even in my dreams.

I was obsessed.

It captured my imagination, focus, energy and every ounce of who I was.

As an immigrant from Nepal, I came to America with my Mom and Dad at 18 months old.

We of course, like most immigrant families, came for the American dream.

And like most immigrants we came with nothing — just $1,000 in our pocket.

And so with a chip on my shoulder as an immigrant, I wanted more for myself, for my family and to alter my family tree so drastically for generations to come. Something that they call “generational wealth”.

However, through my failures and successes in life, study of success and my deep meditation practice of just letting go of everything, I came to the realization that you must attract success and not chase it.

For if you chase it, it will elude you.

After listening to Viktor Frankl’s legendary book, Man’s Search For Meaning, on audible, I came upon his following message,

Don’t aim at success. The more you aim at it and make it

--

--

Sonam Lama
ILLUMINATION

I am a creator, writer, peak performance coach, consultant & entrepreneur. I help others achieve inner peace, form better habits, and become more productive.