Success is a journey, not a destination

Are you inspired by the 7-figure or the million-dollar success stories? Or, are they pushing you back into your shell?

Deeptaketuu Chaatterjee
ILLUMINATION

--

Let’s look at success from a new lens…

A runner running on the street toward a written sign called success with a red arrow pointing in that direction.
Image by Freepik

When you make a career transition or embark on a new life journey, there’s a plethora of emotions that engulf you.

One moment, you are apprehensive about the uncertainties that lie ahead.

Another moment, you are excited about the same unpredictable future that beckons you.

Amidst all these surges of contradictory or complementary emotions, what propels you onward is a dream of a successful life.

While the definition of ‘success’ will vary from person to person, in the material world, some elements of materialistic success are bound to enter your thoughts.

And, of course, there’s nothing wrong with aspiring to become rich. Your success in the world might even inspire you to engage in many charitable or spiritual endeavours.

However, the path to your desired goals could be ridden with hindrances.

Stumbling, falling, rising, and falling again, only to push yourself one more time toward that dream destination… it’s never a bed of roses.

Yet, this roller-coaster ride is so intrinsic to the rewards that you receive in the end.

Hence, the questions that I ask are:

“Do you call yourself successful only when you have millions in assets?”

“Isn’t the road to success a mark of success itself?”

About a year and a half ago, circumstances pushed me to answer my calling and start a new journey as a writer.

🚀I dreamed that my first step into the realm of professional writing would be a blockbuster beginning- My book, “Fakeism,” appreciated by those who read, didn’t quite make me the next J.K. Rowling (or Robin Sharma, as it’s a creative nonfiction). 😁

🚀I was excited to get a break in the next couple of months into the growing online content-writing industry. Did my struggles end with this? Far from it, as I kept fighting to scale up and find a stronger foothold in the market. 😁

🚀Have I been able to break the jinx and enter the high-paying markets yet? No, I haven’t. I’m still trying to stay afloat. 😁

Then, what the heck makes me feel ‘successful?’

Well, I have done the following in the process:

⭐I successfully overcame my fear of publishing my book (and eventually writing on Medium.com).

⭐I successfully managed to find regular work (albeit at low-moderate rates) in a competitive market.

⭐I successfully upgraded my skills, and I’m still continuing to do so.

⭐I successfully keep negative thoughts of failure at bay, as I know the path that I’ve chosen will lead me to the material success that I deserve.

Am I being bullheaded? Maybe, yes.

But have I stopped taking a rational approach toward my goals? No, I have enrolled in relevant courses with proven track records, I’ve subscribed to newsletters of highly successful writers who share great tips, and I have taken steps to improve my outreach to potential clients.

There is still a lot more to do. But I’m on my way to realising my goals.

That’s success for me.

When the millions start pouring, I’ll pop the champagne and celebrate this ‘successful’ journey.🍾😂

Let all the rags-to-riches stories inspire you in your journey, wherever you are. The learning is in the process that those people share, not the end results.

As mentioned in Colossians 3:23–24, “Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for human masters, since you know that you will receive an inheritance from the Lord as a reward. It is the Lord Christ you are serving.”

--

--

Deeptaketuu Chaatterjee
ILLUMINATION

I write on easy-to-imbibe self-help practices with relevant context from holy scriptures.