Superior Being in the Eyes of a Non-believer

Jessica Kiev
ILLUMINATION
Published in
2 min readJun 26, 2020

--

Superior being, does it exist?

Growing up in a Buddhist family, I am supposed to be a believer. Believing in a miracle, fate, and all the superior beings. However as I grew up, I started to think I am not a believer.

Photo by Ric Rodrigues from Pexels

I feel like I do not believe in “God”, a superior being that has the power to control my life and to turn my life upside down easily. I do not believe that as long as we pray and believe, we will be saved. I do not believe that, for instance, when we are sick, everything can happen under the control of the superior being, you can either be cured or be doomed.

However, I do believe in the existence of a superior being, a being that creates humans. After all, I believe that to exist, something has to create, that becomes my basis of belief. The analogy is just like humans and robots. Human creates robots, so in this case, the human is the superior being, the creator. But, when the robot is broken, humans can not always repair it. The creator does not have the ability to guarantee a good life to the robots.

That is what I believe, but contrary to that, I somehow unconsciously believe in a miracle. Oftentimes, when I was in danger, or when I was scared of something, I subconsciously prayed to something, like “please help me” or anything similar. I do not know who I was praying to, but obviously, the prayer was aimed at a superior being. At the end of the day, nobody can confirm its existence physically.

In the end, it is up to you to believe in your heart or not.

--

--