Surrounded By Snakes In The Darkness

Aslynn Roe 🐈
ILLUMINATION
Published in
8 min readFeb 12, 2022

--

The Safety of Strangers in a Turbulent World

Photo by Nick Rickert on Unsplash

It was April 2021, and the United States had not only undergone a pandemic but racial and societal unrest over the past year. We were in North Carolina where we had stopped our RV for the night at a local distillery. They host your stay in hopes you will purchase their inventory. We had a lovely tour and tasting of spirits.

I had finished dishes after making a nice camping dinner of salmon patties, potatoes, and mushrooms. I wanted to go for a little walk down to the river. I love walking at night, especially where there is a body of water involved. There was one other RV couple camped, but the rest of the property was very dark, quiet, and secluded at night.

I walked alone in the deepening dusk, to hear the chirping sounds of spring and the water rolling down the river. A very loud white truck pulled into long driveway of the distillery where we were parked. The music was blasting from the interior and the florescent lights accenting the headlights were shining brightly on me. I turned to see the truck and why they had invaded my quiet nature, but it was impossible to see with the bright lights in my eyes. As I turned back toward the water and continued walking, the huge truck swerved over toward me in a threatening manner. I ran off to the grass to avoid being hit.

--

--

Aslynn Roe 🐈
ILLUMINATION

I am a listener of culture, history, media, and politics. Follow me, and we will go somewhere. Finding out where is half the fun!