Sway

Diksha Prashar
ILLUMINATION
Published in
May 8, 2024

You were easy to sway

Photo by Milo Miloezger on Unsplash

You filled

The lonely void

But, took something

More precious when you

Scampered,

Thought we got

Something special

The lies you fed,

An entertainer

A pass time

My worth

You

Measured,

Million pieces scattered

Around me

No matter,

Continents apart

Still

A thorn

From my past,

Poking me

For naivety

I crass,

Trust a

Foreign land

I fear to venture,

Burnt thousand times

Scars lathered

Still burning from

Alt you poured,

Your laughter ‘still’

Rang in ears

Calling me unworthy

I swear,

You whiled

Away with pride

Crushing mine,

I carry the ashes

To this day

Remembering the words

‘You were too easy to sway’

….

Have you experienced something like this before?

--

--