‘Sweet Jane’!

The ultimate rock song, and why

Steve C
ILLUMINATION
Published in
9 min readNov 4, 2022

--

Photo by Martin Castro on Unsplash

I’m a Cowboy Junkies fan. I wasn’t a Lou Reed fan, other than that “Walk on the Wild Song.”

But that all changed.

Why I wasn’t a Lou Reed fan

From a distance, I just didn’t think he was that talented. He was a cliche I didn’t get. Sure, “Walk on the Wild Side” is a catchy tune and the lyrics are cool. But, the dude just can’t sing. Possibly that’s part of his attraction.

“Walk on the Wild” side takes me back to a time and an early adulthood relationship that ultimately dissipated. On my first call to her I got her answering machine that had an overlay of “Walk on the Wild Side.” That song makes me think of her, intimately. My attraction to the song was more about her than Lou Reed. Every time the song came on I thought of her. I thought she was cool immediately.

I’ve listened to “Sweet Jane” performed by the Cowboy Junkies for years. For all I knew it was an original song of theirs. Eventually, I stumbled upon the knowledge that the song was written by Lou Reed and performed by his band the Velvet Underground.

The song — why it’s awesome

“Sweet Jane” can be covered by many different bands and in many different versions, and they’re all good.

--

--

Steve C
ILLUMINATION

This 2 Shall Pass. Maturing and Still Learning After All These Years.