Swiping: The Surprisingly Pleasurable Way to Text (Or Type) On A Phone

Jaws drop when people see this for the first time.

Laurent Duperval
ILLUMINATION

--

Picture of two hands holding a flip phone with a full keyboard
Photo by Wahyu Setiawan on Unsplash

If you’re going to spend your days caressing your phone, why not make it a pleasant tactile experience?

Maybe you’re like me. I’ve never been a very good phone typist. Heck, I’ve never been a very good typist, which is why I use voice dictation as my primary typing approach on the desktop.

On phones, voice dictation is cumbersome for long pieces of text, and pecking away on such a small display is annoying — to me, anyway. It makes me feel like I’m all thumbs.

That changed around 2010 when I discovered swiping. I was ecstatic! More than ten years later, I thought everyone knew about this texting method. But every once in a while, someone sees me swiping for the first time, and they do a double-take.

So I guess it’s not as common knowledge as I thought. Time to change this.

Using Keyboard Swiping for Texting

Here is swiping in action:

Swiping in action at 4x speed. Capture by the author.

--

--

Laurent Duperval
ILLUMINATION

Bilingual Cybersecurity Copywriter and Certified Content Marketer, I write content that attracts the customers you want. I write it so you don’t have to.