Taking long walks is therapeutic for your mind

They can be more fun than you think

--

I live in a medium-sized city, with a population of approximately 240,000 people. The city has been expanding considerably these last years due to the immigration of farmers and rural people. Now there are loads of new neighbourhoods around the city with peculiar names.

I love taking walks in my city, especially in the neighbourhoods I don’t know very well. I don’t enjoy walking downtown as much as I do in the neighbourhoods because the downtown area is familiar to me, there is nothing new to discover and besides, it’s full of people.

Sometimes, I take a bus and I don’t get off until I’m far away. I desist looking through the window at times and in that way, I don’t get to know where the bus is taking me and that makes the trip more exciting.

A few times I got off the bus and had no idea where I was, in that case, I had to walk a few blocks to figure out where I was. It’s exciting to not know where you are, it’s as if you travelled somewhere for a few minutes.

It’s surprising how little I knew about my city. I discovered plenty of nice placitas (little squares where people hang out), callecitas (like alleys or little streets), and little parks I didn’t know were there. I used to explore with a friend and…

--

--

Leo Zeballos
ILLUMINATION

A student of life. Writing about personal growth and mental clarity. Let's chat: leozeballos8@gmail.com