Taking Responsibility

John C. Davis
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readJun 15, 2020

--

It’s the birthplace of more freedom in my life

Photo by STIL on Unsplash

I am guilty of often not taking responsibility for my life.

That’s a hard pill to swallow.

I pride myself as being somebody who does not outwardly blame other people or play the victim in my life. I believe that other people see me as a very responsible person who is kind to other people.

I am kind to other people.

I am responsible in many ways. I show up for work, I do my chores at home, I pay my bills on time, and I do my best to be the kind of loving husband that my wife deserves.

Therefore, I believe I portray an outward vision of being responsible.

It is the behind the scenes things that I struggle with.

For most of my life I was not responsible or respectful with my money. For many years I spent it in ways that were not healthy for me or the people around me. I treated it with and air of arrogance and privilege. When I got married, I began to be responsible. Once I chose to be married, I had to also decide to be responsible with my money. Once our money was pooled together it meant that my actions now affected my wife.

This realization that my actions affected my wife brought me to have to deal with a part of me that I didn’t want to deal with. That I…

--

--

John C. Davis
ILLUMINATION

I am an author, writer, and speaker, interested in highlighting and celebrating the endless beauty of the human spirit. https://johncdavisauthor.com