Talk Less, Do More

A simple remedy for life that will change the whole game

Peter Duz
ILLUMINATION
4 min readApr 27, 2021

--

In this article, you will find the simplest lesson I have learned when I finally overcame procrastination, lack of motivation, and the feeling like I’m stuck in life. Here’s the secret to how you can finally do that thing you’ve been putting off for too long, and you and I know that.

Photo by Ethan Elisara on Unsplash

Being young as I am, life provides me with a lot of stuff to deal with and I know I’m not the only one here (and I just can’t figure out if that pile is going to grow with my age or what?). Now, what I’ve learned is that our primary coping mechanisms sometimes aren’t the best ones.

Talk less, do more

From now on, you’re not gonna talk about how amazed and excited you are about your future plans of starting that business, moving to that van you’ve been dreaming of, or simply starting anything because you're probably not gonna start at all. It will stay like it. Just a thought living in your head.

Our brains are designed to serve one purpose: survive, and sometimes your dreams are bigger than that. They can feel uncomfortable at the beginning, starting something new brings a lot of new feelings and thoughts. That process will probably take you somewhere farther than your comfort zone. The brain does not like that. It will try to keep you safe from the unknown, sticking to that one old pattern: daydreaming.

And don't get me wrong, your plan needs to be well thought.

Only there is one issue. Most of us won’t move beyond that stage. Ever.

Rethinking that exciting idea and speaking about it with your friend's day-to-day fills up your system with so much dopamine that it’s so easy to stay like that. You don't actually need to change anything, even worst, if you someday try to accomplish that goal you can immerse yourself with some negative emotions, stress, and what’s gonna provide you that good feeling? You will be tired. Maybe even there’s the slightest chance that your dream won’t come true? (I knocked on a wood for you)

If our brain constantly is trying to protect us from the unknown, then starting is not the best option for it.

We need to break out of that self-destructive cycle that is holding us back.

Start before you’re ready

The truth is that you’ll never be ready. So why not start right now?

Photo by JOYUMA on Unsplash

My experience

I've recently realized that I’m the victim of my brain. For weeks and I mean weeks, I was talking to my friends that I would like to write here on Medium. I was super excited; I was talking about my ideas for articles and all. But guess what. I didn’t do that until one of my friends sent me a link to her article on Medium.

Oh, imagine how traumatized I was!!

Not from the fact that she was the first one here, but how simple it was to just start.

And because of that realization, many things are coming to my life and Medium is only the beginning.

If you have noticed that pattern in your own life, then great, you are now equipped with the knowledge of what to do about it.

If not, then also great. You didn’t waste your time here, because regardless of the answer now I want to give you some last advice on starting things:

You don’t need to know every detail about the thing you are trying to start

You would probably need only 70% of that, the rest of the knowledge will come along the way.

Mundane chores do right away. You noticed you do them.

This one is great. That will save you so much time spent on procrastination.

If you’re like me and you hate those minor tasks like throwing out the garbage or going grocery as much, then remember my words. You see, a problem; you do everything to make it right now. Don’t romanticize it. Try it. Thank me later.

Be more spontaneous

Don’t be afraid to mess up in the process, learn and draw conclusions. Just start and move to stage 2.

Thank you for your time here, as you probably know, this is my first ever article and I would very much appreciate any of your comments about the topic, the more technical side of my article, or anything that comes to your mind.

Peter

--

--

Peter Duz
ILLUMINATION

I’m a young guy trying to make first steps in the creative industry against the tide.