Walker Sweet
ILLUMINATION
Published in
Dec 16, 2020

The Medium feature that displays an editor’s name at the bottom of a story if the editor exchanged private notes with the writer before publishing needs to be tweaked in my humble opinion. For instance, my first story was rejected by an editor of another publication. She rejected it via a private note on the story. I replied back, thanking her for her response. The next day, before submitting to Illumination, I removed the private note from the story.

Her name still appeared at the bottom of the story.

Image created by Walker Sweet

To summarize, Medium added a line at the bottom of my published story giving thanks to an editor of a different publication, all because we exchanged simple private notes associated with the story.

There is an option to hide it (as shown in the image above) but, Medium, please hide this line unless the writer chooses to add it.

Walker Sweet
ILLUMINATION

I’ll be sharing many words. I hope that most of them make sense.