That was the Last Photo I Took Before Everything Changed

We really can’t put all the eggs in one basket.

Juliano Righetto
ILLUMINATION

--

My wife’s birthday dinner. On the plate, you read “parabéns,” which means “congratulations” in Portuguese. Author’s photo.

This photo was taken on my wife’s birthday last year, in January 2020. Shortly after her, my life was never the same.

I am an actor and writer. I never had a job without an expiration date. I am always hired on the job, which means staying on the job for a few years and then a few months off until the next job starts.

Because of this, I cannot have the lifestyle that my income provides. After all, I know that I will be unemployed for a long time, so I have to prevent myself during the fat months. As I do this since I graduated as an actor in 2001, okay, I’m used to…

Then came my last soap opera on Globo TV, for which I was hired in 2015.

Our soap opera had a severe structural problem: the broadcaster changed the soap opera's size on the air and did not warn us. Our predecessor was an hour and twenty; we had an hour and ten. As the team I was part of was known for the dialogues, when editing the images captured to fit in an hour and ten minutes, the soap opera’s director was forced to cut scenes. And the worst: cut dialogues.

That made the soap opera challenging to understand.

--

--

Juliano Righetto
ILLUMINATION

“We are nearsighted because we are brief.” Actor, Screenwriter, Author, Top Writer 2019 and 2020 on Quora in Portuguese with more than 26 million views.