The 10 Steps of Strategic Peacebuilding

Create your strategy to build a more peaceful and just world

Taylor O'Connor
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by JESHOOTS.COM on Unsplash

“To fight and conquer in all our battles is not supreme excellence; supreme excellence consists in breaking the enemy’s resistance without fighting.” — Sun Tzu

This is for all of you dreamers and idealists out there, you activists and selfless souls dedicating your life to a cause. I hate to do this, but I’m gonna rain on your parade for a minute here. It’s a little tough love, but I’m here to help.

Have you ever had the fleeting thought that a lot of what you are involved in might be a waste of time? And money? That what you’ve been pouring your heart and soul into might not be making the difference you had hoped it would?

It isn’t a problem of motivation. It’s a problem of planning. It’s likely that what you’re doing isn’t strategic enough: a common problem. And one that we can easily fix.

So basically, peacebuilding strategy, strategy for social change, justice, or whatever you want to call it, is my jam. I get hired out to help NGOs, non-profits, UN agencies, and the like to build strategies for change. And in my free time, I do it for fun to help the activist types I hang around with.

--

--