The 2 Most Important Tools for Freelancers

I found these to be more important than any digital/internet-based tool.

Nathaniel Mellor
ILLUMINATION

--

Woman sitting at a bar, working on her laptop, with the beach in the distance.
Photo by Daria Mamont on Unsplash

As far as freelancing goes, I’m new to the field. I’ve only been working for myself for the past three or four years. Before then, I had a job at a grocery store. And before that, I waited tables.

So, it feels like a big step up. I’m working for “myself” which, as it turns out, is hundreds of faceless online clients who are, honestly, nicer than I was expecting. I thought they would all be like restaurant patrons: monsters.

But, I found that freelancing presented challenges I wasn’t expecting. Strangely, setting my prices was one of the more difficult things to do. Someone wants me to edit a book. I like books. Shoot, I can read pretty fast, too. I dunno, let’s just say, twenty bucks? Oh, I’m shooting myself in the foot?

And we learn. We change our prices, we ask for more time, more so that we stay sane while we work and less because we actually need that much time, and we learn how to identify problem clients before they’ve become problems.

Through all of this, I’ve learned to use two tools in order to keep my sanity, but also to not burn out. Because as freelancers, we didn’t get to take part in the Great Resignation. I quit… my own job? It’s like…

--

--