The 3 most embarrassing moments of my life

Erum Khalid
ILLUMINATION
Published in
4 min readJul 4, 2022

These moments still haunt me even after many years 😑

Photo by Alexandra Gorn on Unsplash

Why am I writing about my most embarrassing moments?

Should not I hide these moments from everyone?

I don’t know why I am doing this 😄

Maybe in this way, I will be able to forget them.

Or perhaps, my embarrassing moments have not been as awkward as I think them to be.

(Don’t make fun of me, please)

(Also, share some of your embarrassing moments in the comment box down below so that I may find some solace afterward 😆)

#1 When I ran for my life during one of my University lectures 😃

Photo by Jeremy Lapak on Unsplash

You may have been thinking “What’s so funny here, everyone would run for his/her life if the situation demands”, right?

But the funny part is that there was no danger to my life 😆

During one of my University workshops, I, along with my fellow batchmates, was standing around a gigantic machine (I forget the name of that machine)

We were listening to the instructor, who was giving us instructions about the ‘dos and don'ts’ of that room-sized machine.

After giving the instructions, the instructor started the machine.

As soon as he did that, a deafening, exploding sound comes out from that giant machine, making it unbearable to stand in that place.

Unaware of the fact that this was exactly how that machine starts, with all of that thunder and explosion, I started running straight out of that place, at full pace, thinking, everyone else was doing the same 😅

When I reached the safety point, I looked behind, worriedly about the safety of my friends, but there was no one behind me 😆

All my batchmates along with the instructor were looking at me from the distance, laughing their hearts out.

I never recovered from that incident 😄

#2 When I tried to be over-efficient in front of a guy I liked😅

Photo by Tyler Nix on Unsplash

We are all attracted to someone at some point in our life.

And when we come across such a person, we tried to appear/behave as perfectly as we possibly could.

The same thing happened to me. 😆

I once liked a guy from my University 😍, and we somehow managed to get into contact with each other.

Since I liked that guy, I was all busy, appearing to be the smartest, eloquent, and insightful in front of him (but my fake efficiency bubble burst out soon 😢)

One day, I told him that I have a presentation due the next day for which I am very concerned…

The night before that presentation day, I got a text from him saying “BOL”, which, in my native language Urdu, translates to “say something”

I saw his text, not knowing what this “BOL” stands for, and replied in Urdu, “Kya Bolun bhae Raat K Is Waqt”, which means in English “What can I say at this time of night!?” (frustrated tone) 😆 😆

And the rest was history.

I didn’t know BOL stands for BEST OF LUCK 😑 😑

This is why I hate abbreviations 😠

#3 When I rattled the public washroom doorknob while my mind was preoccupied

Photo by Sung Jin Cho on Unsplash

The last and the most embarrassing one was when I visited a hospital to get my clinical reports done.

I was at the hospital, waiting to collect my ultrasound report when I feel the need to use toilet.

I asked the man on the counter about the toilet and rushed towards it.

Unfortunately, the bathroom was busy.

Preoccupied with my thoughts, I started forcing and pushing the toilet’s door handle, forgetting about the fact that it was a public place and someone might be in there 😆 😆

The only thing in my mind was “why the door not opening if it is written that it is a toilet”

I looked around, hoping to ask someone about the reason behind the closed bathroom door 😃

But when I looked around, I observed that everyone in the sitting area was staring at me 👀 👀

I thought to myself “ what happened? why are they looking at me like this?” 😶

That was the moment when I came to the realization that it was a public washroom and someone might be in there!

I rushed back to my car, never to return to that place ever again 😆

Whoever that person was, in the toilet, accept my apologies. I did that unconsciously 😶

These are the three most embarrassing moments of my life up until now.

Rate my embarrassing moments in numbers with 1 being the most embarrassing in your opinion 😆

Also, share one of your most hilarious moments in the comments down below to ease my heart.

Thank You for reading!

If you enjoyed my story then consider subscribing to my email address

Also, be my friend on Twitter ❤️

--

--

Erum Khalid
ILLUMINATION

Content Writer | Open for work | Niches: Writing, Relationships, Parenting, Pets, Technology, whatnot :) https://www.upwork.com/freelancers/~0173a3bc3a1f451617