The 7 Biggest Regrets I Hear From Married People

The wedding ring isn’t always a recipe for joy.

Ossiana Tepfenhart
ILLUMINATION
Published in
9 min readDec 16, 2022

--

Photo by freestocks on Unsplash

Marriage is one of the weirdest institutions in the world. It’s the only business partnership that has people vowing to adore and serve their partners until they die. It’s also the only legal contract that connotes a sexual relationship as an obvious part of the agreement.

For some people, such as myself, marriage is a major highlight of their life. I always wanted to be married, and while I never will get the wedding I wanted, I am fairly happy as a wife. My marriage had its rough start, but it’s decent and we have our swing of things now.

Most of my friends, though, are currently in the process of divorce or have been divorced already. Among us married or previously married folks, there are occasional conversations we have — conversations we often don’t like to admit we have.

You know the conversations, right? The ones where we all talk about the regrets we have about marriage or the problems we face? The conversations about the problems we have?

Before you get married, maybe you should read about the most common regrets I heard from those who got married.

“I regret marrying my spouse.”

--

--

Ossiana Tepfenhart
ILLUMINATION

I’m a weirdo who loves to write. Deal with it. Available for hire. Instagram @ossiana.makes.content