The shortcut to enlightenment might start with things that annoy you.

The Accidental Zen Of Being Scatterbrained

What seems like burnout may just be blissfully blank.

Lori Brown, Writer
ILLUMINATION
Published in
4 min readJun 17, 2020

--

A woman with brown hair sits comfortably and although focused, she is distracted and looking out the window.
Photo by Pâmela Lima on Unsplash

What was I doing just now?

Mystified by the blankness in my mind, I am baffled. What was I on a mission to write about before I spaced out? It is funny how monks and aspiring Zen practitioners try their whole lives to achieve a state of blankness, and here I am experiencing it a couple of times a week. I have been doing so for as long as I can remember. Should I tell the spiritual gurus of the world that the secret to a blank mind is to fill it first with all kinds of crazy ideas to the point of short-circuiting the whole show? A mind that overflows is sure to lead to a blank stare at least.

Which brings me back to my personal state of being puzzled.

How did this happen again? Let me think back to five minutes ago.

Five minutes ago:

Rather than typing words with my keyboard to produce awesome written material, I procrastinated. Again. Accidentally.

I tapped lightly with the end of my green permanent marker to a rhythm in my head. I tapped wildly — but perfectly, I…

--

--

Lori Brown, Writer
ILLUMINATION

I'm a mom, a wife, and a playful storyteller. Voted Top Blockchain Voice on Linkedin, and voted Best Human Ever by my two dogs. #RuffLife.