The American Dream and Republican Missouruh!

Harry Hogg
ILLUMINATION
Published in
4 min readApr 13, 2023

--

A Rant about scrambled eggs and Republican Threads

Image: Huffpost.

I’d just sat down and raised my implements to dig into my evening meal of scrambled egg on toast when a series of unwelcome knocks at the front door forced me from the table.

I hadn’t been expecting anyone, none that I remembered, but knocks had become increasingly rampant over the weeks leading up to the local school elections to determine what candidates will make up the school board members.

Among the hot runners, one is accused of molesting an underage high school girl. Unproven. But I think is a diploma in the Republican ranks.

I opened the door, still wiping my mouth, to find a person facing me holding a pamphlet upright between his fingers and thumb, showing a picture of a man with a remarkable likeness to the same man holding the pamphlet. The man wore a red rosette on his shoulder.

I’m opening the door just after watching on TV a Republican Senator suggesting that twelve-year-old girls should be allowed to legally marry an adult.

Quote: “Do you know any kids who have been married at age 12? I do. And guess what? They’re still married,” state Sen. Mike Moon, an Ash Grove Republican, said Tuesday evening in response to questioning by state Rep. Peter Merideth, a St. Louis Democrat.”

--

--

Harry Hogg
ILLUMINATION

Ex Greenpeace, writing since a teenager. Will be writing ‘Lori Tales’ exclusively for JK Talla Publishing in the Spring of 2024