The Art of Cookery

Response to writing prompt: Cooking

Paroma Sen
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Calum Lewis on Unsplash

My kitchen has no fancy tools, I won’t lie
And there is a reason! Let me tell you why

Standing in front of the stove, the spatula in my hand congeals
And I think, “This is how an orangutan with a cello likely feels!”

Cooking to me is like the arcane dark arts
Requiring knowledge and patience in carts

Belonging to those who guess at flavors from the sight of ingredients alone
Or intuit a casserole edge from the way the days of the week spell mascarpone

Star crossed lovers we are not, cooking and I
From my spotless kitchen, I bid thee goodbye.

For Corona-induced cooking adventures in prose form, read this:

This is in response to Somsubhra Banerjee’s prompt ‘Cooking’ to which he tagged me in the below.

For continuity I am tagging the same writers he did: Priyanka Srivastava, Sneha Mankar, James G Brennan, Gurpreet Dhariwal, David Rudder, Eli Snow, Shalini C, Melissa Bee, Aimée Gramblin, Radha Kapadia, Suntonu Bhadra, R Tsambounieri Talarantas, E. Scott Alighieri, J.D. Harms, Dennett

--

--

Paroma Sen
ILLUMINATION

“Do not go gentle into that good night, but rage, rage, rage against the dying of the light.”