Strategic Planning

The Art of the Long Game: Mastering 10-Year Life Planning

Steal My Blueprint for Decade-Long Success and Personal Growth

Owen Robert McGregor
ILLUMINATION
Published in
5 min readJan 15, 2024

--

Image by Author

Personal History with the 10-Year Plan

At the end of 2019, I started doing simple yearly recaps as a way to look back at major events in my life and where I want to be going next year. It was May 2022, when this practice expanded into a monthly journalling habit. Back then, it was a simple commentary of what I was doing that month.

In October 2023, I came across the idea of crafting a 10-Year Plan by debbie millman on Linkedin, which during my reflections in December 2023, made me think more critically about my journalling and came to this realisation;

  • The 100-Year Plan is a “Life Purpose” statement,
  • The 10-Year Plan is a “Vision” statement and long-term plan,
  • The Yearly Journal is an “Audit” and short-term plan,
  • The Monthly Journal is an “Reflective Commentary” record,
  • The Weekly Journal is a “Historical” record.

After this, I started crafting a guide to creating a Vision statement and Plan guidelines, the following is a product of that effort.

--

--

Owen Robert McGregor
ILLUMINATION

Economics Prodigy from Melbourne 🇦🇺 Globe-trotting nomad 🌍 Obsessed with becoming a Modern-day Polymath 🧠 Follow for a curated list of my insights💡