The Backwards Law of Addiction

“That which we need the most will be found where we least want to look.”- Carl Jung

Sion Evans
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Adam Bixby on Unsplash

My addictions are quite plain in comparison to the normal idea of addiction. It doesn’t get in the way of me being a ‘functional’ civilian, in fact, they’re more ‘socially-acceptable’ than the more mainstream addictions.

What it does do is keep me from being my optimal best, which when accumulated over days, months and years takes a significant toll on my well-being, my relationships, and any ambitions I had in the first place.

To me, my addictions come in the guise of over-eating, over-exercising, over-dieting, over-caffeinating, over-dating, over-procrastinating, over-dwelling in the nostalgia of better days to name a few.

If we were to be consistent with the Cambridge dictionary definition of addiction as “an inability to stop doing or using something, especially something harmful”, then we can all claim to be guilty participants.

It wasn’t the substances or the act that was at fault, but rather the relationship I had with it.

I had let it become my crutch, my very reason for living. I had gotten addicted to the things that took me away from the pain, escaping, hiding away in my next ‘fix’ not realizing the repercussions of…

--

--