The Benefits Of Diaphragmatic Breathing

Why I recommend this practice

Chasing Dreams
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Alfred Schrock on Unsplash

I discovered diaphragmatic, or deep, breathing after I was diagnosed with cancer and had surgery.

As part of that surgery, I had a breathing tube inserted. I had never thought about that happening. The anesthesiologist told me the morning of the surgery. It was not a problem, but it turned out I was glad he made the disclosure.

The day after the surgery, I was home resting. It felt like I was coming down with a cold. I had a scratchy, slightly irritated throat and a stuffy nose. Then it dawned on me. It was a result of the breathing tube.

I was not concerned, and after a few days, the feeling went away. It did make me wonder about my breathing and the effect on my overall health, so I did some research.

That is when I discovered diaphragmatic breathing, which I am now practicing.

What exactly is diaphragmatic breathing? It is a simple, easy-to-learn exercise. Learning and practicing this technique will strengthen your diaphragm, which is the muscle that enables you to breathe.

There are many ways to perform this method of breath control.

It is inhaling through your nose and breathing out through your mouth which is the most efficient way to breathe.

--

--

Chasing Dreams
ILLUMINATION

Discovering the joy of writing. Wandering through life one step at a time and following the magic.