The benefits of learning an instrument

The key to a better memory, better grades, and personal growth.

Scott Hickman
ILLUMINATION
4 min readJul 29, 2020

--

Photo by Geert Pieters on Unsplash

It’s now been 9 years since I started learning the piano and I am incredibly happy with the results. Learning an instrument is probably one of the most enriching and enjoyable things in the world and am very thankful to my parents for making me stick with it.

Back when I first started it was hard to play for 30 minutes a day as my teacher suggested but with time this became much easier. It transitioned from what was, in my opinion, a chore imposed by my parents to something that I would do to pass the time and for my enjoyment.

Learning the piano has helped me in many ways so today I’m going to be sharing my experience with you.

«When things get tough, there are two things that make life worth living: Mozart, and quantum mechanics» V.F. Weisskopf

It improves your memory

For me, this has not become an issue yet seeing as I am still quite young. However many studies prove that learning and practising an instrument will improve your memory, here is an article by William Klemm, a senior professor of Neuroscience.

As I play the piano I am thinking about many different things: What my left hand and right hand are doing, what I’m reading on my partition, what pedals I should be using, and I also need to think ahead to make sure I don’t mess anything up. This is like one big exercise for your brain improving different areas of it and even using some areas that you haven’t used before.

It will improve your grades

As I said before, by exercising your brain and getting a better memory there is no doubt that this will improve your grades if you are still studying. By doing this musical sudoku every day I can assure you that it will make you more productive, more hardworking and consequently you will be getting better results.

In my first few years of high school, I was part of a special music class for students who take extra singing. My high school had to then separate the music students into separate classes because the music class was getting much better grades than the other ones (which at the time was infuriating but they have since gone back on that decision).

It can help with a temper

I can sometimes have a bit of a temper living with my insufferable brother but I find that after playing the piano for a while I feel more relaxed and calm and things don’t seem to bother me as much. If you suffer from a bad temper I would definitely recommend picking up an instrument and giving it a go.

After sitting down on my bench and diving into a piece of classical music I can assure you that I completely forget why I was annoyed in the first place!

It will improve your social life

Once you have reached a certain level with your instrument you can consider playing in a band or at an open mic which are great places to meet new people with similar interests. Playing an instrument will make you feel like you are part of a community which is a wonderful experience. Even just going to your lesson every week will allow you to meet new people and discuss your interests.

I used to play the piano with a group of guitarist and it allowed me to meet lots of new people that would come and go through the group. I would also meet fellow pianists that were before and after me in my lessons so it’s very easy to bump into people that enjoy music as much as you do.

Photo by Caleb George on Unsplash

And Finally, you will feel so much happier!

It’s hard to describe how playing an instrument makes you happier but after having played some Beethoven with near to no errors I just smile! Once you have got through the difficult stages at the start of learning an instrument you will find how much joy it brings you and will never regret it.

I hope this story has helped convince you if you were considering learning an instrument, it’s such an amazing hobby to have and I can assure you that you won’t regret it!

--

--