The Best part of being over 40s

Ankur R Gupta
ILLUMINATION
Published in
6 min readNov 14, 2022
Pic credit media.istockphoto.com/id/897892972/photo/friends

Life in the mid-40s is one of the mesmerizing phases of life, where we all get a chance to start relishing the fruits of our self-attained accomplishments. With soaring finances, a contended family life, and an esteemed career, life seems to sail smoothly.

Then why do we still feel something is missing in our life?

Our life goes through a series of transitions, and mid-life is one of them. With the first sign of wrinkles showing- up, kids flying out of the nest, responsibilities of aging parents, stressful profile jobs, unbalanced hormones, and health gliding down, many of us have moments of consternation and confusion. You feel emotionally rebooted.

The things that entice and excite us in our 20s and 30s begin to fizzle out in nearing mid-40s and transpose with new ones. We start buzzing for a change. A change that inspires us to follow our unfulfilled promises, dreams, and desires, which got lost in the race of worldly accomplishments.

Five ways I learned to sail through Happy Midlife and after

Be your version of Smile-

Stretch your wings to embrace yourself the way you’re, unapologetically. Begin with unwinding and nurturing your long-neglected self that lay all dusted in a heap of responsibilities.

Entering my mid-40s, realized that I was no more a self-conscious lanky woman than was in my 30s. I was more confident and bolder and was ready to indulge in doing things that gave me sheer pleasure, even if they were frivolous. To begin with, I bought myself a pair of yellow glasses which I always wanted but hesitated to do because of people’s reactions. Well, I wore them with pride ignoring the side glances I got from people around me. I simply didn’t care!!! From that day onwards, there was no stopping. I began stacking my wishes at the top as I realized that I’ve wasted more than half of my life on futile worldly perceptions. I’m loving this new carefree me that is all set to please herself and not others.

I’ve included in my daily ritual to treat myself to my favorite ME time. Enjoying a cup of coffee or glass of wine alone in my favorite corner of the house. Reading uninterruptedly and dishing out my best-loved cuisines. Gardening to soothe my inner soul or just going for relaxing spa massages, aromatherapy sessions, and simply hanging out with buddies is the rejuvenating mantras of mine that keep me going cheerfully ahead in life.

Sometimes all we need is little pampering to bring the best out of us.

The secret behind smooth sailing in Midlife is to invest more time doing things that please you and taking out time to discover your new set of dreams or the unfulfilled ones.

Pic credit media.istockphoto.com/id/519096267/photo

Do not hang up your boots!

It’s never too late to follow your passion. In the mid-40s you get the chance to dream for yourself and what you wish for sans any other kind of attachments (kids, family, peers). So, open up your Pandora’s box of long-overdue desires. Debarred the fear of uncertainty, failure, and social anxiety from blocking your exploration zeal.

I rekindled my long-lost passion for writing, which earlier got buried in the heap of responsibilities in life. Now, all set to follow my next dream of traveling around the Himalayas, and have enrolled in a trekking group much younger than me.

One of my friends, a hardcore corporate guy, found a new passion in farming and started organic farming and cattle-rearing business. From a grumpy old self, his persona transformed into a joyous one as he followed his real passion. So, unpin the list and do the things you always wanted to do as a child, teenager, or youth. Dig inside to discover who you are- A reader, novelist, traveler, adventurer, shopper, stylist, painter, musician, artist, farmer, entrepreneur, the list is endless. Pick out your favorite self and dive into it.

Shy away to hesitate and remember life has no limitations except the ones you make.

Add sparkle to the Relationship-

Relationships are the most significant facet of our life. Our materialistic aspirations and success have no meaning if we have no one to share. My relationship with friends, parents, life partner, and kinship has always been a strength of pillar to me. They make me feel valued, confident and contended.

However, the tides of life tend to let loose our hold on our relations. When was the last time you went on a date with your partner or planned a surprise dinner for them or sat to spend some precious time together with a discussion centric only to you both?

Now is the time to reinvigorate your relationship with your partner. Add more spark to it by indulging in flirtatious gestures, surprise gifts, and expressive love. Revive your memorable moments by zipping off to unplanned holidays, cozy- dates, fun-frolic shopping, late-night movies, and rediscovering each other. There is so much more to discover together, to have an amazingly merrier life ahead. Visit your best-loved places and don’t wait for anniversaries or special occasions for it.

Our parents are not going to be with us forever. Spend more time and relive the moments of your childhood with them. They need your utmost care and above -all you.

CATCH up with Friends to infuse a new zeal of enjoyment and exhilaration in you. Go ahead for lunches, gaming, shopping, pubbing, picnics, or just pick up a phone to chat with them. Plan out a reunion with old buddies to revive the moments of togetherness. At this stage, it’s the memories with loved ones that make you a contented soul.

I love to spend more time with a crowd that brings out the best of me and do not hesitate to oust the set of fake friends or people with a negative aura. I have become wiser and stopped keeping myself on fire to keep others warm.

Pic credit media.istockphoto.com/id/1153408210/photo

Care not for wrinkles, but for Health

Unfollow the sedentary lifestyle as it harms your anatomy. Cardiovascular diseases and a sluggish metabolism are one of the many ill effects of it.

Research indicates that people following a regular fitness regime, especially in their 40s encounter fewer health complications in their later years than those who resist. So, practice a daily fitness regime, be it aerobic, cycling or Yoga. Any form of workout has a beneficial impact on your entire system.

Secure your future

With a few years of retirement left, you need to secure your financial plans for the future. You must have planned earlier wisely, but it needs to be sharpened, now.

Look out for investment and saving plans that will help you to live a qualitative life post-retirement. Chalk out a budget for future expenses like buying a house, higher education for kids, parental care, medical bills, travel plans, and more.

You can also think about turning one of your passions into commercial viability. Starting a start-up or a part-time business can help you sail through your future life.

Midlife is a time for soul searching, self-awareness, and creating the next chapter in the story of your life. It’s about engaging in life fully, embracing the unknown, and having the courage to discover your bliss- Sandra Watson

--

--

Ankur R Gupta
ILLUMINATION

An author, cybercrime intervention officer, a content creator and former Trainer in Human Resources. I write about parenting, mental health & self-improvement.