Never begin with a marathon

The Best Strategy To Use For Writing

Proper writing training will avoid injuries

Stephen J. Lalla, LMNOP
ILLUMINATION
Published in
4 min readNov 3, 2020

--

Photo by Capstone Events on Unsplash

Couch to 5k, aka C25K is the slow training strategy I used to begin my writing journey here. There was a time many years ago when I had a weekly column and then later a weekday publication that I operated for about 5 years. But that had been decades ago, so I was out of writing shape and knew better than to try to jump right into a writing marathon as I didn’t want to injure myself.

As a runner, I’d trained for 5k, 8k, 10k, 15k, half as well as full marathons. I knew preparation through training is essential in any challenging endeavor. Writing is most certainly a challenging endeavor. It requires technical proficiency and a heavy dose of creativity to have some degree of success. So tapping into the Couch to 5k strategy, I applied that to my writing.

There is nothing to writing. All you do is sit down at a typewriter and bleed.

― Ernest Hemingway

In August 2020, I began publishing one article a week. It was relatively easy, but still, I knew each week I had a deadline. In September, I upped my publishing to two a week with a Tuesday and Thursday target deadline. I was able…

--

--

Stephen J. Lalla, LMNOP
ILLUMINATION

The Optimal Life, It’s Not Perfect, Just Better! I’ve been on a many decade quest to optimize my life in all areas and would love to help you do the same.