The Black Panther Encounter

Priyanka Srivastava
ILLUMINATION
Published in
5 min readApr 29, 2023
Image by the author from Canva

Road trips are exciting, thrilling, and memorable, providing the perfect escape from the chaos of daily life. Each road trip is unique, and every journey is distinct in its own way, leaving us with unforgettable memories and experiences that stay with us for the rest of our lives.

One such memorable road trip was to Nainital and Almora which we took last year. Our close friends, Vishal and Rajwrita, visited us in May 2022. Back in Pune, we used to share an apartment next door, and we spent most of our time together, from mornings to evenings to nights. We had breakfast and dinner together, played late-night sessions of dumb charades on our balcony, and went on weekend strolls on the streets of Aundh and FC Road. After we moved to Delhi in 2017, our communication reduced, so when we got the news that they were visiting us in Delhi, we were very excited. We planned a weekend getaway to Nainital and Almora.

Fast forward to Almora, we arrived there in the evening. After checking into our respective rooms, we gathered in the garden area. My little pup, Kiwi, and their daughter, Kuhu, were playing together. We sat down for hours, chatting and gossiping, reliving our old days. Among other discussion topics, we talked about the sunrise and sunset and how beautiful they are. Finally, we decided to wake up early the next morning to see the sunrise. Although Vishal and I were excited, Mohit and Rajwrita warned us not to disturb them until the sun had come up high enough to spread its light and warmth.

I woke up early the next morning to catch the sunrise, but unfortunately, Vishal was still fast asleep. After trying to call him a couple of times without success, I considered going alone to the nearby hilltop to witness the breathtaking view. However, the darkness and silence of the early morning made me hesitant to venture out by myself. Feeling a little disappointed, I retreated to my room and started scrolling through my phone. As the minutes ticked by, I noticed that it was starting to get brighter outside, and the sound of birds chirping in the garden was a sweet melody to my ears. Around 5:30 am, I mustered the courage to take a stroll by myself to the sunrise point. Even though the sun was already up, I knew that it would still be a mesmerizing sight to behold the beauty of nature on my own.

With a sense of excitement and my cell phone in hand, I ventured out into the chilly morning. The path to the hilltop was not a road, but rather a narrow, muddy and rocky trail. On one side was the rocky mountainside, and on the other side, a deep valley. Every step had to be taken with great care and balance. “If I fall from here, who will take care of my Kiwi,” I whispered. Slowly and cautiously, I made my way to the sunrise point. It was breathtaking — the majestic mountain range, the fleeting clouds, the soft yet chilly breeze, and the warmth of the sun made for a perfect combination. I captured a few pictures and sat down to soak in the peaceful surroundings. After spending an hour in the embrace of nature, I decided to make my way back down, where another adventure awaited me.

As I cautiously walked down the slippery trail, I suddenly noticed a silhouette in the distance and was stunned. A giant black creature, approximately 400 meters away from me, was slowly making its way towards me. As my mind registered the image, I realized it was a black panther. I froze. A chill ran down my spine, and my hands trembled, but my feet refused to move. I was paralyzed with fear. With the rocky mountains on my right, the steep valley on my left, and the narrow two-foot-wide trail I was on, I felt like I was in the last few moments of my life. I stood speechless and motionless, watching death take a stroll towards me.

I was terrified at the thought of being killed by a wild animal. Millions of thoughts flooded my mind. My eyes welled up not because of sadness, but because of fear. ‘If I die, who will take care of Kiwi?’, I thought. As I thought about Kiwi, I suddenly came to my senses. Darwin’s theory of evolution started spinning in my head. “Struggle for existence and survival of the fittest.” Between me and the panther, I was not the fittest, but I decided to fight for my existence. I looked around and saw a spear-shaped stone and a wooden log approximately two feet away from me. I picked up both, ready to defend myself.

With the stone in one hand and the stick in the other, I slowly backed up towards the hilltop, seeking a broader space. My eyes were fixed on the creature as I stepped back. It was grazing on grass. ‘Hold on, a panther eating grass? Are panthers herbivores?’ I stumbled over a rock, confused by what I was witnessing. ‘So it’s not a panther, but what is it?’ I was still trying to figure out what this giant creature was when it started growling. ‘A bear! It’s a bear!’ I didn’t know whether to feel relieved that it wasn’t a panther or to be worried about encountering a wild, hairy bear. It took slow, steady strides towards me, still grazing and growling intermittently. The bear was covered in long, thick black hair, with its paws and eyes barely visible. However, its sharp canines were shining like stars in the night sky. As it advanced towards me, I tightened my grip on the stone and log, determined to defend myself. I looked around to strategize my escape routes as sweat drops flowed down my forehead and cheeks in the chilly weather.

As I watched the bear, I realized it wasn’t grazing on the grass, but instead sniffing it. “Do bears sniff a lot? Will it attack me if it doesn’t like my scent?” I wondered. However, before I could complete my thought, my cell phone alarm went off, causing the bear to sprint towards me. My heart stopped as the stone I was holding slipped from my hand, and any courage I had to confront the bear vanished. It jumped on me, knocking me to the ground, and I lay there motionless, feeling as though I was already dead.

Summoning all my courage and strength, I managed to pull myself up and sat down. Suddenly, the bear started licking my face. It was not attacking me, but showing affection. I was confused, scared, and amazed at the same time. I slowly pushed the bear away and stood up, my legs shaking. My hands trembled as I ran my fingers through the hairy coat of the creature in front of me. To my relief, it was not a bear but a huge, giant, furry mountain dog. The sight made me smile and relax. Though it was still intimidating, I knew I could handle a dog. As I stroked and patted him, the intensity of his tail wagging increased, and I could sense his joy. Overwhelmed with gratitude, I hugged him and whispered, “Thank you, I am glad you are a dog.”

--

--