The Brains Off Switch

Bargain Basement Brain Switches on Sale

Stevenharrison
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readSep 7, 2023

--

Photograph by Author — Kodiak, Alaska

Do you ever wish you had an off switch for your brain? When it is overloaded, too sensitive, or too tired to process more, you could flip a switch and turn it all off. Think of the joy of not thinking, overthinking, or reprocessing old memories.

Last night, I had trouble getting to sleep. I am on a new ship, crewmates, schedule, bosses, sounds, and vibrations. We were traveling in an area I have rarely been to. Add all these factors and try to sleep for a few hours, knowing work starts at 4 a.m.

Sound easy to you? If you answered no, you are a human being. But humans run on electricity, so why do I not have an off switch like my kitchen light? Why can’t I turn you off like my computer, rebooting periodically to enjoy the benefits of a clean operating system?

My body was tired, past my usual bedtime, but my brain wanted to tell me old stories. It adamantly refused to stop replaying memories. I explained patiently to my brain, I have already heard this story a hundred times. I did not like the story the first time. Could you please stop replaying the same old song and dance?

The brain listened but did not respond to my repeated requests. I turned on Hulu and tried to watch someone else’s problems, but that did not work either. The goal was…

--

--

Stevenharrison
ILLUMINATION

I Read, I Write, I Live, I Learn, I Am a Human Being.