My Most Popular Story

It earned me basically nothing.

Ms Fischer
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Jonathan Cosens Photography on Unsplash

I recently checked my stats and found that my most viewed (and read) story on medium earned me only 45 cents.

I wrote the story on Chris Hogan after the news broke that he had been fired by Dave Ramsey for infidelity. I discussed the hypocrisy in this company and the court case. I posted a friend link in a financial Facebook group that is based on (but broke away from) the Chris Hogan millionaire Facebook group. I knew people there would be interested in this news.

Three hundred nine people from Facebook read the story, 304 using the friend link. I have no idea how the other five found the story on Facebook. The story was shared 11 times on twitter and 14 times through email, etc.

Another 167 people found my story on google, one on Bing, and another on Startpage. (I had to look this one up since I had never heard of Startpage.)

I was also amused that someone accessed the story through a search engine called “duckduckgo.com” but did not bother to look that one up.

When I searched for my title on google, the story came right up. I have no idea why it deserved such a high placement in the google algorithm. Every day the story receives more external views even though I deleted the link from the Facebook group after a few days.

Only 21 medium members viewed/read this story (4% of the total views of 523). Perhaps the story did not resonate on medium since Dave Ramsey and Chris Hogan are not household names or of interest here.

I was quite pleased that 523 people viewed my story and almost 400 read it — even if I earned almost nothing from it. Perhaps I will find topics to write about that provide more value to readers on medium.

--

--

Ms Fischer
ILLUMINATION

I am a retired high school teacher. I traveled the world. I write about financial issues, teaching, and travel. I also write poetry.