Pexels by

The Cyber Arms Race Is Clear To This Target

Almost Two Years Have Passed Since I Was Taken Down & I Have No Idea If This Story Will Be Seen or Read, Really

Heather S. Wargo
Published in
23 min readMay 14, 2021

--

Why me?

It’s still incredibly murky. I really don’t know, to this day, May 10, 2021.

No one has “revealed” themselves fully, nor has a reason been disclosed to me, not a scrap of why dropped, though I have my ideas.

Once Upon a Time

Cyber alarms clang for me in February 2019, while I am working on an advocacy project with some close friends.

Our Zoom meetings would flash constantly, crash constantly… we all reported strange goings-on with our debit cards being constantly declined or frozen at our banks, requiring massive headaches to fix…at one point, a week didn’t pass without my card being “flagged for fraud” and frozen.

I notice there are “visitors” on my MacBook Air. In my settings, there is an extra “entity” in my WiFi network settings.

“Hidden Network”. What? Seems… ostentatiously sinister, so it must not be, right?

I kick them out of my MacBook Air by deleting and denying permissions, cutting signals to that particular connection, etc…

--

--

Heather S. Wargo
ILLUMINATION

Italian American Writer in PA wilds. Gen X survivor attempting to climb shrinking narrow. Despite all my rage, still just a rat in a cage.