Prose / Poetry / Nightmares / Mental Health

The Dark Office

When your nightmare got you scared!

Agnes Laurens
ILLUMINATION
Published in
4 min readSep 8, 2021

--

Photo by Peter Herrmann on Unsplash

“Come, let’s go”, I said to a girl as a look-a-like of my oldest daughter. It was not her, it was someone else. I brought my suitcase, a black small suitcase. In that suitcase, I brought my music and my writing belongings with me.

When I arrived at the brown building from the outside, and dark brown from the inside, with lots of dark wood materials, I was headed to my room by a young boy in a black suit with gold buttons on the front. He waved at me, and said with a mysterious dark voice: “Come with me.” Slowly he walked to the elevator and stared at me the whole time. His eyes were small and it looked like he was something up to with me.

I arrived at the hotel room and it was a dark room with dark furniture and a dark view from mysterious windows. I couldn’t see anything from the window. It was taped with black tape. I stood there in the dark room; scared, lonely, and I didn’t know what to do. My body shook from the bottom of my toes.

The man still stared at. He didn’t say anything to me. Just staring. That is something I hate; staring at people. “What is all this.” I said while staring at him back. He looked mean to me and I felt uncomfortable.

--

--

Agnes Laurens
ILLUMINATION

Agnes Laurens is a writer. She writes for the local newspaper. Agnes lives in The Netherlands, with three daughters. https://linktr.ee/alaurens