The Dark Side of Fashion!

Freda Savahl
ILLUMINATION
Published in
5 min readJan 5, 2024

--

The Truth About Wearing Stoat Fur Coats

Photo by Anton Tkachenko on Unsplash

Christmas Eve service:

As I settled into my seat in the church pew, I couldn’t help but steal a glance at the woman sitting next to me. She was simply stunning, with an air of elegance and sophistication that caught my eye. I couldn’t resist complimenting her on her pretty coat and wishing her joy for the season. Her response was friendly & appreciative.

With a happy smile, she said, “This is pure ermine! A gift from my fiancée!

(I bit my lip as I was about to retort — I wonder how many animals had to die for that coat!)

So, I kept my silence & joined in to sing the carols.

Alone at home this evening, I researched the cute little stoat!

Stoats, members of the weasel family, thrive in various environments across North America, Europe, and Asia.

You know what they say, “Looks can be deceiving,” and that couldn’t be truer when it comes to the stoat. With its cute and cuddly appearance, you may be tempted to…

--

--

Freda Savahl
ILLUMINATION

Retired Nurse Practitioner WHC /Contract Provider Deployment Military Services. US Citizen. Immigrant from South Africa 1978.