The Day

Medrik Minassian
ILLUMINATION
Published in
2 min readApr 24, 2022
Photo by alevision.co on Unsplash

My eyes ache.
I tried hard to win the day,
Well, I didn’t.
And do you know the reason why I fell short of a victorious cry?

I will tell you, my friend,
I just tried to win the day!
Was it enough to cease the Sun and the Moon,
To own the glory of Heaven and Hell?
It wasn’t, for I only tried to please my soul and my deceived self.
And yes, I knelt under the falling edge of my sword to see the day pass my defeated self.
Yes, ‘I lost.’ To be true to one and say the truth of defeat bears great courage.

Now that the day is gone,
My eyes, bloody and weary, in all fury, ache.

To live the day is one, and to win the day is another.
My mind rambles over trying.
Let me tell you this,
If ever you choose to try and win, try your hardest.
Win over your mind before you set foot into the very day that calls you for a duel.

I shall tell you this too, my friend.
A day will come for you, too, to try and win the day.
And ‘The Day’ will come for you to cease it and win it over
But will you, my friend?

--

--