The Day My Ice Cream Melted Away…

Faith Modiyil
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readMar 10, 2024
Picture created with the help of AI

Picture this: scorching sun, hot enough to melt the sidewalk. All I wanted was a cold escape, an ice cream cone to chill out. As I waited in line, a small voice tugged at my heart. This little kid, couldn’t have been older than eight, mumbled if I could buy him some ice cream.

No brainer, I did! We got him a chocolate cone, and his face lit up like a Christmas tree. But then a thought hit me — what about his brother or sister? Did they crave a sweet treat too?

As if reading my mind, the boy mumbled that his brother would love one too, but… well, you get the idea. Without a second thought, I grabbed another chocolate cone for his sibling. Here’s the twist: as I reached for mine, he shyly asked if I could maybe give his brother mine too. Apparently, bro hadn’t had ice cream in ages!

Part of me, the admittedly selfish side, really wanted that ice cream. It was scorching, and I was craving it! But seeing his hopeful eyes, I just had to laugh. I ruffled his hair and told him to high five his brother for me.

Honestly, that day, I learned more than I bargained for. It wasn’t just about buying someone ice cream. It was about being grateful, you know, truly appreciating the good stuff, even the small things.

Imagine a ship in a crazy storm. Sometimes, to survive, the captain has to throw stuff overboard to lighten the load. That’s kind of like gratitude. It teaches us to let go of things that weigh us down, the stuff that might bring a little happiness but ultimately hold us back. It’s not about giving away everything you own, but recognizing what truly matters.

Sure, giving up my ice cream might seem like a small thing. But for that boy and his brother, it meant the world. It was a reminder that there’s good in the world, even when things are tough. The coolest thing is, you don’t need grand gestures to show gratitude. Small acts of kindness, like sharing an ice cream cone, can leave a huge impact.

Being grateful isn’t always easy, but it’s like a muscle — the more you use it, the stronger it gets. Here’s how I try to stay grateful every day:

  • Gratitude Journal: I take a few minutes each day to write down things I’m thankful for, no matter how small. It helps me focus on the positive.
  • Mindful Moments: Throughout the day, I take a breath and appreciate the little things — a steaming cup of joe, a beautiful sunset, a good laugh with a friend.
  • The “Why” Question: When I’m attached to something, I ask myself, “Why am I holding onto this?” Does it bring me real joy, or am I just stuck in a habit?

By doing this stuff, I train my brain to be thankful for what I have. It helps me appreciate the good times, even when things get rough. And guess what? It opens me up to helping others, spreading a little kindness that can touch countless lives.

So, the next time you have to let go of something, remember the melted ice cream. It might just be the key to unlocking a deeper understanding of gratitude, a powerful force that can change your life for the better.

--

--