The Day My Zoomer Daughter Called Me a Boomer!

J.T. Vaughn
ILLUMINATION
Published in
5 min readJul 5, 2023
Photo by Katie Gerrard on Unsplash

The “insult” rolled off my daughter’s tongue with as much malice as she could muster.

“You’re such a boomer!”

Apparently not knowing anything about my daughter’s favorite singer made me like, omigawd, totally uncool!

Now my daughter stood there smirking, confident that she landed a colossal zinger that would wreck my dad mojo.

Dads like me who have been in the trenches long enough know that’s when you come right back over top with a more subtle and confusing insult.

“I’m not a Boomer, but I wouldn’t expect a Zoomer to know that.” I shot back.

My daughter curled her upper lip, and I could see the cocky smile fade away as self-doubt set in.

“I’m not a Zoomer! Wait, what’s a Zoomer?” she exclaimed with trepidation.

Ah, how the tables had turned, and I decided there would be no mercy for this offense.

“A Zoomer is someone who isn’t cool enough to know about Bugle Boy jeans and CDs, you know…you.”

Before she even had a chance to ask about the glory of Bugle Boys, I informed her I was part of Generation X, only the coolest generation of badasses to grace the planet.

We didn’t need phones and apps to have fun as kids, because we knew how to make our own fun, and we didn’t need seatbelts and helmets either!

That’s when I got my daughter’s patented eye roll and then… she got me…

“Ok, whatever Boomer. No helmets? That explains a lot!”

My dad Mojo was stunned, like a street brawler catching an uppercut from a southpaw.

Bonding with your child is much easier in the early years, but that dynamic changes when she grows older and becomes this complex individual — one that asks tough questions and has opinions!

I hit her with a YouTube junkie crack, but she stopped playing and threw out a Smurfs cartoon quip.

All I could think to myself was, “Damn dude, you should have never told her ‘The Smurfs’ was your favorite cartoon growing up!”

That’s when I realized I couldn’t win this showdown, I was going toe to toe with mini-me.

She had all my sarcastic wit, and she knew all my weaknesses.

That’s when I played dirty and threatened to sell my daughter’s hockey gear on eBay!

As my daughter started laughing and walked away, it was one of those moments that made me realize how lucky I was to be a father.

I have a wonderful relationship with my daughter, and she just gets me and my oddball sense of humor.

The Secret to Bonding with Your Child

When my wife was pregnant with my daughter, I would spend countless hours musing about what she would be like.

Would we have a great relationship? Would she be fun to be around?

Would she even like me?

Some say I’m an acquired taste, so there were no guarantees here!

When you are a new or expectant dad, it’s quite common to have these thoughts and fears. It can be overwhelming to think about your baby growing into an actual walking and talking human one day.

Not just any human, but one that you want to love and adore you!

What dad wants his kid to grow up and think he’s a jerk?

If you want to avoid that depressing situation, it’s going to take effort on your part. A great relationship with your child won’t just magically happen, sorry.

Bonding with your child is much easier in the early years, but that dynamic changes when she grows older and becomes this complex individual — one that asks tough questions and has opinions!

Sometimes those opinions may not line up with yours, believe it or not, as smart as us dads are and all (any moms reading this, I see you rolling your eyes!).

Even worse, some of the tough questions might make you really uncomfortable.

As my daughter grew, I decided early on to always be honest and open with her. I wanted us to keep no secrets from one another, but this two-way street wasn’t always easy for both of us to navigate in the beginning.

When my daughter started to ask me sexual questions, or the time I told her about the physical abuse I suffered as a child, it was difficult for me. However, I kept my promise, and was open with her about whatever she asked or wanted to discuss.

It also took my daughter time to feel comfortable telling me everything and not keeping secrets, as she was fearful of judgement and repercussions if she had done something wrong.

This is truly a delicate dance, especially when your child is honest about something that ultimately needs to be punished.

Finding the right balance between teaching her a lesson and not losing her trust will often cause friction in your relationship. However, it’s your job to help your child understand that being forthcoming doesn’t mean it absolves her from punishment.

Just remember that, even when it feels like your child doesn’t trust you, believe me, she still wants to confide in you.

That is your secret weapon, and you must keep reassuring her that you will always be there when she wants to talk.

Don’t Be Afraid to Make Yourself Vulnerable

Developing a close relationship with your child will likely require that you go outside of your comfort zone and be brutally honest, even when the truth doesn’t always make you look like the cool dad anymore (maybe you got bullied in school or did things you aren’t proud of!).

Our sons and daughters want to hear about our past and get a better understanding of what we were like at their age.

When your child discovers that you weren’t perfect and made mistakes, or maybe you were kind of the geeky awkward kid, she will feel better about herself, and it will make it much easier for her to relate to you.

The same holds true of the present — don’t be afraid to let your child know that you aren’t all knowing and live life without fear. Showing this type of vulnerability makes it much easier for your child to confide in you about her own hopes and fears.

The big secret to developing a great relationship with your child is all about letting go of your own hang ups and to just be real with her. When you put your ego in your back pocket, without trying to build yourself into some kind of superhero, it will help bring the two of you closer.

Now get out there and tell your child how much of a dork you were as a kid!

Are you a new or expectant dad filled with anxiety about fatherhood? Do you want to empower yourself and become a better father?

Get on the right path by downloading my free guide:

“Boss Dad vs Bad Dad: Discover The Seven Parenting Secrets That Will Make or Break a New Father”

Click here to follow me on Twitter.

--

--

J.T. Vaughn
ILLUMINATION

J.T. Vaughn is a proud father of two and the creator of InsiderDaddy.com, where he shares empowering advice to help ease the fears and anxiety of new dads.