FICTION

The Death Of Henry James Part 9

A Sunny Alexander-Johnson and Roberto De La Cruz Series By P.G. & Sharon Barnett

P.G. Barnett
ILLUMINATION
Published in
6 min readAug 11, 2020

--

My name is Sunny Alexander-Johnson. And I’m Roberto De La Cruz, and we’re writers for Dark Sides of the Truth magazine.

Part 1, Part 2, Part 3, Part 4, Part 5, Part 6, Part 7, Part 8

With our lives literally hanging on by nothing save the sweaty grasps of our hands, we knew if we didn’t come up with something fast, one or both of us was going to die.

Somehow, the thoughts of being tied to a post in a cave at Shandy Bay waiting for the tides to come in and drown one of us or being tossed into a fifty-five-gallon barrel where the final destination was the bottom of the Colorado River seemed to pale in comparison.

“Do something, Roberto!”

“Okay, okay. Look, can you reach the strap of my backpack?”

“Not without letting go.”

“Then let go.”

“Are you fucking serious?”

“Sunny. I’ve got you, but I don’t know how much longer I can do this. There’s no way I’m going to be able to lift you up without both of us going over. Reach up and grab my backpack, then crawl up.”

--

--

P.G. Barnett
ILLUMINATION

A published author enjoying married Texas bliss. Dog person living with cats. A writer of Henry James' stories. Featured In MuckRack. Top Writer In Fiction.