The Difference Between Those Trying To Die And Those Hoping That Death Finds Them Sooner Than Later: Active And Passive Suicidal Ideations

Jason Morton
ILLUMINATION
Published in
10 min readFeb 9, 2023

--

We all understand people who are suicidal desperately need someone to reach them. Many of those people want someone to hear their cries for help. What about those people that are hoping death finds them? Let’s look at the two and the subtle differences.

Image by ntnvnc from Pixabay

Note: This is from my experiences in life, as a professional, and as someone who found themselves with a dark thought, once upon a time. I’m not a trained mental health professional or even a doctor. If you’re having suicidal thoughts, please talk to someone or call 1–800–950–6264 before you do anything.

What seems like a lifetime ago, I asked my college psychology professor a question. What’s the difference between suicidal people and those who have a death wish? He gave me an answer and asked me to stick around for a moment after class was done. His concern was that anybody asking such a question might need to talk. He later elaborated on the differences the two types of people have, getting past the answers the American Psychological Association defined.

The simple answer is that suicidal people can be placed into two categories, actively suicidal and passively suicidal. Someone that’s actively suicidal has a…

--

--

Jason Morton
ILLUMINATION

Currently, I'm a telecom tech, a grandfather, and fighting cancer. I enjoy writing and sharing opinions. I stumbled into some knowledge along my journey.