The Dilemma: Cutting my Startup Pitch to 5 Minutes

James Y Kim
ILLUMINATION
Published in
2 min readMar 28, 2023
Photo credit: Rodnae Productions — Woman Holding White Paper and Graphs

It’s another Monday and I’m in the second week of the commitment I made to myself in writing every Monday. As I put “pen to paper” today, I’m bumping up against the most important presentation of our startup’s life. Some of the largest banks in the country, our state’s treasury office, and a couple of VCs will be in attendance tomorrow as I pitch them our business.

I haven’t slept well in the past few nights so I’m fighting lack of sleep and nerves in my preparation. I need to take a break so I’m here on Medium fulfilling the commitment I made with myself last week. The topic to write about was easy to choose this time because of what’s at the forefront of my mind.

I’m given 5 minutes to pitch tomorrow but I have a tendency to go past the given amount of time. I need to cut what I’m presenting by almost 2 minutes. That’s a lot I need to cut. One place to really cut down is at the beginning of the pitch when I’m discussing the problem.

Photo credit: Image by ar130405 from Pixabay

Even with cutting that down significantly, I still need to cut about another minute. That still seems like an eternity to cut down. What I don’t want to cut is information about our solution to the market.

I do feel like I’m spending too much time rambling about our “Go To Market Strategy” and “Milestones” slides. I really need to tighten those up.

I’m going to keep this writing piece short because there’s still more work to do, practicing my presentation and keeping it at 5 minutes. A lot is at stake but I’ve got to keep up my confidence that I can deliver tomorrow. Wish me luck!

Thanks for reading, friend! If you like what you read from me, you can buy me a coffee to support me.

If you’re interested in learning about how to get out of student loan debt faster, please go follow my own new Medium publication that specifically targets this topic: Tackling Student Loan Debt.

--

--

James Y Kim
ILLUMINATION

Founder of AlumSum / Status quo challenger / Entrepreneurial DNA / Chicago Booth MBA