The Do’s & Dont’s of Virtual Meetings

Christine Lorelie
ILLUMINATION
Published in
4 min readJan 4, 2021

--

Remote meetings are still relatively new to me. I’ve only been doing it for about a year or so.

But no one told me how to be in a virtual meeting.

Do I have to have my camera on?

Am I speaking?

Do I have to prepare anything?

So far, I’ve just been playing these virtual meetings by ear. With no one calling me out yet.

But I’m here to lay down the rules based on both my experience and research. No more looking like a dumbass; I’m not necessarily talking about you; it’s more about me.

Mind you that this list is straightforward and not all-encompassing. But this is aimed at people who are are new to the world or virtual meetings.

Because…

Virtual Meetings Are Here To Stay

Virtual meetings are nothing new. But since the pandemic, many of us have been forced to stay at home. Since then, our human-to-human interactions have been significantly reduced. When we can’t spend time with people, most of us have resorted to video calls both in our personal lives and workplaces.

Having virtual calls with friends and family members is much different than having virtual meetings for work. For those who are new to virtual…

--

--

Christine Lorelie
ILLUMINATION

UX Researcher | Product Designer | Listener | Millennial | Writing about what it means to be human | www.christinelorelie.com