The Downfall of Twitter, the Rise of Threads

Has a viable Twitter alternative finally arrived?

Anna Burgess Yang
ILLUMINATION

--

A blue bird looking warily at a ladder
Image created via Midjourney

My phone vibrated in the early evening of July 5th. A notification: Threads were now available for download.

I’d heard that Meta was building a Twitter alternative a few months ago. At the time, the release date was unknown. Then I tripped across the news that Threads would be released on July 6th. I’ve never before requested notification of an app’s release, but I did with Threads. I immediately signed up with my Instagram account.

And I wasn’t alone: Threads has now crossed 100 million signups in the first four days of its existence. Of course, signups and active users are two entirely different things, but the excitement is there.

I’m sure many people, like me, have been eagerly awaiting a Twitter replacement.

A viable alternative to Twitter?

I left Twitter a few months ago. I didn’t deactivate my account, but I pinned a message to my profile that I’m no longer actively using the account — with a Canva image of links to my other online accounts.

The straw that broke my back was when Elon Musk began suppressing links to Substack, retaliation against Substack’s release of Substack Notes (a potential Twitter…

--

--

Anna Burgess Yang
ILLUMINATION

Freelance Writer. Practical Tips for Solopreneurs. Career pivots are fun. 🎉 https://start.annabyang.com/