The Edge

A Poem About Journeying Beyond Self-Imposed Boundaries

Miss Handie
ILLUMINATION

--

Photographed By Tamela Handie

I did it.

I penetrated my own barrier reef.

I didn’t even realize I had one.

We all do.

I kept tripping over mine, stepping around it, and wondering why there was never any “better” on my bread.

Somewhere along the way, I must have gotten curiously courageous enough to poke a hole in the reef with the heel of my stiletto.

What have I done?

The swells could not be contained.

The tide came and carried me with it…flowing well beyond the boundaries of everything.

Penicillin everywhere.

Mine. All mine.

Unapologetic, unassuming, unrelenting, uncompromising…until the pattern was locked in place forever.

I can no longer see the shore.

She wouldn’t recognize me now anyway.

I’m not the same anymore.

Thank you for taking the time to read my poem. It was written on the insomniatic night of October 2, 2021.

--

--

Miss Handie
ILLUMINATION

I believe that words help us to demonstrate the highest expressions of ourselves to the world. Choosing the right words can move the highest mountains.